Wilkerson Scholarship

Laura Wilkerson began teaching at Broadmoor Community Preschool in August 1994. Since that time, she has touched the lives of hundreds of children through her work at the preschool where she continues to teach and has been the director since 1998.

Laura and her husband, Larry remain committed to the mission of the school and to positively impacting the lives of both current and former students. To that end, in 2009 the Wilkerson Scholarship was established in 2009. The $1000 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior who was previously taught by Laura.  In 2016, the Wilkerson Scholarship was increased to $1500.00.

An active group of BCP volunteer parents selects the scholarship recipient based on volunteer experiences and on the quality, uniqueness and creativity of the content in their essays. The following children have received the Wilkerson Scholarship:

2009 Rachel Lindau, Cheyenne Mountain High School

2010 Tanner Bowman, Cheyenne Mountain High School

2011 Steven Tracy, St. Mary’s High School

2012 Elizabeth Kurata, St. Mary’s High School

2013 Aspen Peifer, Cheyenne Mountain High School

2014 Maggie Sheahan Cheyenne Mountain High School

2015 Dylan Craddock Cheyenne Mountain High School

2016 Katie Sheahan Cheyenne Mountain High School

2017 Lindsay Gassman Cheyenne Mountain High School



2017 Wilkerson Scholarship Winner Lindsay Gassman

(Steve Gassman, Aimee Gassman, Lindsay Gassman,Laura and Larry Wilkerson)

Applying for the Wilkerson Scholarship

If you know a high school senior who was taught by Ms. Laura, we want to make sure that the school has their current information in order to receive the scholarship information in the spring of their senior year.  Click here to submit updated contact information.